Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-06-08 16:37
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 022
2017 November

Calling on the Government to Take Lead in Hiring Disabled Persons

“We connect for hope and happiness” is the theme of the first Policy Address by the Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam. There are indeed many new policies to cater for the underprivileged groups: such as arranging cross-disciplinary teams to kindergartens for children with special needs so they can get timely rehabilitation services with "zero" waiting time; a "special needs trusts" for parents of disabled persons with the Social Welfare Secretary appointed as trustee to ensure that parents' estates are used for the long-term needs of disabled children; additional special education resources, such as human resources through establishing curriculum development officers in special schools, occupational therapists in schools for children with mild and moderate intellectual disability and speech therapists in schools for social development; to enhance the social competitiveness of disabled students in the future. These are all indeed encouraging measures. However, the Chief Executive’s policy in allocating resources to improve employability of capable disabled graduates in the job market is seriously inadequate. As a result, disabled students who are employable become unemployed once they leave the school. This is a waste of the education and rehabilitation medical resources provided by the Government.

To understand the employment situation of people with disabilities and chronic illnesses, the Hong Kong PHAB Association and five other social welfare agencies joined hands to explore the relationship between people with disabilities (including visually-impaired, hearing-impaired, physical disabilities, mental/emotional disorders, learning disabilities and chronic illnesses) and their difficulties in job search, job retention and getting promotion. The report points out that employers have confessed that they were deterred by the cost and legal responsibility of employing persons with disabilities. They think the Government's application procedures for subsidised schemes complicated, and their limited understanding of the Government’s subsidy schemes have diminished their motivation to hire disabled persons.

In fact, quite a number of businesses have started to try employing people with disabilities in recent years. However, employers feel that government support is inadequate or that employers are afraid to hire because of the lack of workspace and facilities for wheelchair users. They would not consider employing people with autism, hyperactivity and intellectual disabilities due to a lack of understanding. In order to "connect", the Government must step up its efforts to promote employment for people with disabilities and provide more subsidies and support to businesses that are willing to help; so that more employers will actively apply for funding to improve their facilities and environment to employ disabled persons with ease. This would in turn achieve a win-win situation for both employers and people with disabilities.

It has been nearly 10 years since the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities was implemented on August 31, 2008. The Convention stipulates that a signatory party needs to guarantee, promote, protect and ensure the right to work for persons with disabilities. Hong Kong has already signed this Convention. As the largest employer organisation in Hong Kong, the Government should take effective and appropriate measures to promote and implement the principles of the Convention. Legislation should be enacted as soon as possible for employment of people with disabilities with Government departments taking the lead in hiring appropriate number of disabled persons as civil servants in line with international standards. At present, less than 2% of the civil servants in the Government are disabled. With such a low ratio, how can people with disabilities connect the current Government “with hope”?

We urges the Government to address the employment rights and needs of people with disabilities and strategically provide them with the opportunity of trial placement, internships or working in various industries; or to support them to work at home or start their own businesses and eventually releases the carers too. Then both the caregivers and people with disabilities can join the job market. Only through this can we truly “connect for hope and happiness” as promoted in the Policy Address.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-10-09 9:52
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

022期2017年11月

促請政府牽頭聘用殘疾人士

「一起同行 擁抱希望 分享快樂」是行政長官林鄭月娥首份《施政報告》的主題,當中確有不少照顧弱勢社群的新政策,如:安排跨專業團隊到幼稚園為有特殊需要的幼兒提供「零」等候學前康復服務,讓有特殊需要的幼兒及早獲得適切適時的復康醫療服務;為殘疾人士的父母設立「特殊需要信託」,並指派社會福利署署長擔任受託人,以確保家長的遺產用於照顧殘疾子女的長遠需要;增撥特殊教育的資源,在特殊學校增設課程發展主任,在輕、中度智障學校增設職業治療師及在群育學校增設言語治療師等人力資源,以增強殘疾學生將來在社會上的競爭力,這些措施確實令人鼓舞。然而,行政長官在投放資源改善有工作能力的殘疾畢業生轉銜至就業市場方面的政策卻嚴重不足,令這些具備工作潛能的殘疾離校生由「畢業」變為「失業」,白白浪費了政府投放在他們身上的教育及復康醫療資源。

為了解殘疾人士與長期病患者的就業情況,香港傷健協會與另外五間社福機構組成的「感‧聘」就業連網於今年5月探討殘疾人士(包括視障、聽障、肢體傷殘、精神/ 情緒病、學習障礙及長期病患)在求職、工作維繫及上流時遇到的困難。報告指出僱主坦言基於聘請殘疾人士的成本及法律責任而卻步,又認為政府的資助計劃申請手續繁複,甚或不了解政府的資助計劃,減低了他們聘用殘疾人士的動力。

事實上,近年有不少工商企業已開始嘗試聘用殘疾人士,只是僱主們感到政府支援不足,或因為工作環境沒有足夠空間及設施給予輪椅人士而不敢輕言聘用,又或對自閉症、過度活躍症和智障等殘疾人士的認知不足而不考慮聘任。要做到「一起同行」,政府必須加大宣傳聘用殘疾人士的力度和為有心的工商企業增加資助和支援,圖令更多僱主在了解政府的資助計劃後,會積極地申請撥款改善聘用殘疾人士的硬件及軟件而安心聘用他們,以達至僱主和殘疾人士雙贏的局面。

聯合國《殘疾人權利公約》於2008年8月31日推行至今已接近十年,公約規定締約國需要保障和促進殘疾人士工作權的實現,香港早已簽署了該公約。政府作為香港的最大僱主機構,應採取有效和適當的措施推行和實踐公約的宗旨,盡早就聘用殘疾人士訂立法例,並由政府各部門率先聘用合乎國際標準數量的殘疾人士為公務員。現時殘疾人士只佔政府整體公務員人數不足2%,這偏低的比例又怎能令殘疾人士與現屆政府一起「擁抱希望」呢?

本處促請政府正視殘疾人士的就業權益和需要,具策略地為殘疾人士在各行業提供試工、實習或體驗的機會,或支援他們在家辦公或創業,最終能一併釋放殘疾人士照顧者的勞動力,讓照顧者和殘疾人士可以一起投入就業市場,這樣才能真正實現施政報告所提倡的「一起同行擁抱希望 分享快樂」。

本頁完