Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-11-24 16:24
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 021
2017 September
The Boundless and Bottomless Sea of Remedial Classes

September 1 - is a day, for many students, best to be forgotten and yet dare not forget – School Commencement Day.

However, many primary and secondary schools have in fact, quietly kicked off their new semester early. The official reason from most schools is to help students adapt to the new school year early in the learning progress, but in the minds of the students, they are being forced to see their summer being shortened with nowhere to complain…

It is not difficult to imagine why students feel helpless. Only if teachers and parents can picture the following scenario: Suppose your boss unilaterally announces that you need to attend remedial classes during your annual leave to improve the overall work performance and business results, and no make up holidays will be granted; you may then immediately think of your "labour rights" that annual leave is the employees’ rights that cannot be denied. However, who is willing to promote the needs of Hong Kong students?

In the mid-nineteenth century, under the auspices of American educator Horace Mann, the United States carried out comprehensive education reforms, including the implementation of the "summer vacation" system. This reform won support from the medical and psychological fields that believed students were at a developmental stage and their brains should not be under long-term pressure. In addition, the schools in Europe and the United States have always encouraged institutes to reach out to the community and expand students’ personal experience during the summer vacation, and that even include exchanges abroad. It is indisputable that such kind of non-classroom learning experience would benefit young people greatly.

In Hong Kong, the local education system has always given people the impression of "spoon-feeding". The prevailing examination system only emphasizes students' recitation of book knowledge and lacks access to society and nature. Under the overloaded system, students simply have little opportunities to cultivate personal and social-cognitive skills. In recent years there is a sarcastic term on the Internet coined to describe students who excel in examinations but are weak in their general skills - they are labeled as "high in scores but low in skills".

Our four Happy Teens Clubs are committed to creating a healthy and happy environment for young people to thrive. However, seeing a lot of primary and secondary students attend different remedial classes and activities in the long holidays, we not only witnessed the students’ multidimensional developmental space being shrunk and limited, but we even saw students being punished for absenteeism in these holiday remedial classes. This will not only stifle students' development opportunities outside their studies, but will also reduce the motivation to learn, the result is counterproductive. We emphasise the encouragement of students' autonomy and diversified learning, that does not mean to completely sever "learning" and "holidays", but rather that students will be allowed to learn in a more diverse way during the long holidays so as to achieve the goal of holistic development.

A famous animation "Alike" said: "You cut off my wings and then blame me for not being able to fly." Most of today's educational reforms or systems, including holiday arrangements, are dominated by adults’ subjectivity. However, whether adults really have a reflection on what expectations they have on the next generation? Young people are our future successors; do we only need elites with high scores, and not multi-faceted development? We can start from here and re-examine our education policy, methods, and even whether the holidays should be filled with homework, tutorials and supplementary exercises...!

Advocate Justice Team of Happy Teens Clubs

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-07-12 15:53
前往目錄

 

021期2017年9月

補完又補 學海難捱

本處樂Teen會 倡導公義工作小組

九月一日,對很多莘莘學子來說,可能是一個不想提起,未敢忘記的開學日。

然而,其實有不少中小學已經靜悄悄地提早展開了新學期。校方大多解釋是協助學生提早適應新學年的學習進度,但在學生心目中,實質是提早開課,眼睜睜看著暑假被強制縮減但有苦無處訴。

學生無奈的心情其實不難想像,請老師父母們設想以下的處境:假設你的上司單方面宣布為了提升大家的業績及工作能力,在你放年假期間需要出席進修班,却不獲補假。這一刻的你,可能會馬上聯想起「勞工權益」,認為放年假是員工不容剝奪的權利。然而,又有誰願意為香港的學生倡導其需要呢?

十九世紀中期,在美國教育家賀拉斯·曼(Horace Mann)帶領推動下,美國進行全面教育改革,包括實施「放暑假」的制度。這個改革普遍得到醫學及心理學界的支持,他們認為學生正值成長發育階段,腦部不宜長期受壓。而且,歐美國家的學校一向鼓勵學校在暑假期間接觸社會及拓展個人見識,甚至是出國交流等,這種非課堂式的學習經驗,讓青少年裨益甚大,已是不爭之論。

在香港,本地的教育制度一向予人「填鴨式」的印象,通行的考試制度只令學生偏重背誦書本知識,對社會和大自然缺乏接觸及了解機會。在恆常繁重的課程下,學生根本難有機會培養個人生活能力和認知社會的能力。近年在網上就有一個名詞諷刺應試教育下的產物只著重背誦資料而忽略書本外的能力審核,這班學業成績優異,但綜合能力薄弱者,就被冠上「高分低能」的標籤。

本處四所樂Teen 會一向致力為青少年締造健康愉快的成長環境。可是,眼見目前不少中小學在長假期期間有著不同的補課及活動安排,大大限制了學生的多元活動空間,甚至有學生因為缺席在假期中的補課而受罰。此舉不單是扼殺學生在學業以外的發展機會,更會減低學生的學習動機,結果適得其反。我們強調鼓勵學生自主及多元學習,意思並非把「學習」及「假期」完全切割,而是提倡容讓學生在長假期中以更多元的方式進行學習,這樣才能真正達致全面發展的目標。

外國一部著名動畫《相似》如此說:「你剪掉我的翅膀,卻怪我不會飛翔」。現今絕大部份的教育改革或制度,包括假期的安排,都是由成年人以主觀意志主導的。然而,成年人是否真的有反思,他們對下一代應抱著什麼樣的期望呢? 青年人是未來社會的接班人,難道我們的社會只需要高分精英,就不需要多元能力發展了嗎? 從這個反思問始,更可以重新檢視我們的教育方針,方法,甚至假期是否要被填滿了功課、補習、補充練習...... !

本頁完