Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-08-14 15:00
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 020

Neighbourhood Elderly Centre

The Social Welfare Department (SWD) has launched the Neighbourhood Elderly Centre (NEC) since 2002-03 to provide a range of comprehensive support services for elderlies. HKCS has three Neighbourhood Elderly Centres, and the Un Chau NEC in Shamshuipo is one of them. The Centre aims to implement the concept of "ageing in place" and "people-oriented" services. It provides a wide range of quality and professional community support services for service users to build up healthy lifestyle, actively participate in social affairs and continue learning so as to achieve active ageing.

The Centre's services include:

  • Health check-up
  • Nurse Talks
  • Sports classes
  • Excursion
  • Volunteer visits
  • Various learning classes
  • Activities for carers
  • Counselling service

Hong Kong is gradually stepping into an aging society and the medical system is facing severe challenges. At present, many elderlies are suffering from cognitive impairment, pain disorders and different health problems. They have to queue up for government specialist treatment or community service that normally takes several months or more. The fees for private medical institutions are so high that the elderlies and their carers cannot afford it. In view of this, our Un Chau NEC has been actively cooperated with various health care organisations in recent years. For instance, the Centre cooperates with the psychiatric department of Kwai Chung Hospital to provide community clinic service; collaborates with the Hong Kong Credible Care Volunteers Association Ltd. to arrange nurses to provide on-site health check-up for elderlies; invites Chinese medicine practitioners to give health talks; and works with institutions to arrange hearing tests. It is expected that through education and early check-ups, elderlies and carers could identify health problems as early as possible so that the elders can receive timely treatment.

In addition, the Centre is active in organising various health activities, such as chair dance, body fitness class, exercise band class, WII FIT sports class, tablet computer music and brain gym. Interesting approaches are adopted to encourage the elderlies to develop an exercise habits and to receive regular brain exercise to slow down their health and cognitive degradation rate, so that they can live happily in the community.

Hong Kong residents aged 60 or above are welcome to join the Centre and become members. In addition, the Centre also welcomes the carers and community members to register as carers and volunteers.

Acupuncture services

Many elderlies suffer from pain disorders. Starting from last year, a team of graduates of Diploma in Clinical Acupuncture of the Hong Kong University School of Professional and Continuing Education provides free Chinese acupuncture service for elderlies at the Centre. Those who received acupuncture service said that their pains have been relieved.

Service details

Time: Every Saturday, 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm

Fees: Free for the first time, followed by $20 each time, 6 times for one course of treatment

Treatment: pain disorders (low back, knee, shoulder); early stage of stroke

Target: 60 years old or above, low-income families, etc.

Inquiry & appointment: 2731 6313


A Chinese medicine practitioner demonstrating how to massage acupuncture points to reduce pain during a talk on pain disorders


The Centre using iPad games to train participants’ brain power


A nurse taking blood glucose tests for participants


Participants learning chair dance

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-07-12 17:30
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

020期2017年7月

長者鄰舍中心服務 — 針灸服務

社會福利署(社署)自2002-03年度開始,開設新的長者鄰舍中心(鄰舍中心),為長者提供更全面的支援服務。本處共設有三間長者鄰舍中心,而位於深水埗的元州長者鄰舍中心是其中一間。中心本着貫徹「居家安老」之理念及「以人為本」的服務宗旨,提供多元化、優質並專業的社區支援服務,推動服務使用者建立健康生活模式、積極參與社會事務及持續學習,實現躍動晚年。

中心提供的服務包括:

  • 健康檢查
  • 護士講座
  • 運動班
  • 旅行
  • 義工探訪
  • 各式學習班
  • 護老者活動
  • 輔導服務等

香港漸漸步入高齡化的社會,醫療體系正面對嚴峻的挑戰。現時區內有不少長者有認知退化、痛症及不同的健康問題,他們輪候政府專科治療服務或社區服務的時間往往需要數月或以上,而私營醫療機構的收費高昂,長者及護老者實在未能負擔。故此,中心近年積極與不同的醫護團體合作,例如與葵涌醫院老齡精神科合作舉行社區診所服務,與香港卓護義工協會有限公司合作定期安排護士為長者提供到戶健康檢查,邀請中醫師舉辦健康講座,與機構合作舉辦聽力檢查等。期望透過教育及早期檢測,協助長者及護老者盡早識別健康問題,讓長者及早接受治療。

除此之外,中心更積極舉辦不同的健康活動,如椅子舞、體適能運動班、橡筋班、WII FIT 運動班、平板電腦樂及健腦操等,透過有趣的方式,鼓勵長者培養恆常運動的習慣,並且定期接受訓練腦筋,以減慢他們健康及認知退化的速度,讓長者能快樂地在社區生活。

凡年滿60歲或以上的香港居民均歡迎加入中心成為會員。此外,中心亦歡迎護老者及社區人士登記成為護老者及義工,參與中心的護老者及義工服務。

不少長者都受痛症困擾,去年開始,一班香港大學專業進修學院臨床針灸學文憑畢業醫生到中心為長者提供免費中醫針灸服務,接受過針灸服務的長者均說痛症問題得到舒緩。

服務詳情

時間:逢星期六,下午2:30 至4:30

收費:首次免費,其後每次$20,6次(包首次)為一療程

主治:痛症(腰背痛、膝蓋痛、肩膀痛)、初期中風

對象:60歲或以上長者、低收入家庭人士等

查詢及預約:2731 6313


中醫舉行痛症講座,教導參加者如何透過穴位按摩,減輕痛症的情


中心透過iPad遊戲,訓練參加者腦力。


護士為參加者進行血糖檢測。


中心教導參加者椅子舞,參加者正興奮地學習。

本頁完