Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-06-08 16:37
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 019
2017 May

Protect Children at Risk Support Distressed Families

In September 2017 the government will implement free early childhood education for children aged 3 to 6. That said it will be formally included in the education subvention scheme. However, it only applies to children of half-day mode, for whole day and long whole day mode, parents still have to pay some school fees. It is still quite far away from diversified free education. Hong Kong needs a comprehensive review and planning on early childhood education: little has been done to support education and caring for children aged 0 to 3; the government fails to come up with detailed planning and development for special pre-school education; the lack of accurate information on parenting and necessary space for educational parenting activities; parents are running into snags amidst the piecemeal and other so-called parenting information.

However, there are many difficulties and service gaps in offering support to these children at risk. They are: (1) acute shortage of residential places for infants and children and cannot offer timely protection to them, even children of some confirmed abuse cases can only stay in hospital until there are emergency places available. (2) Over 30% of children who have traumatic experiences and 40% of others who have been assessed with special needs would be admitted to Small Group Homes or Children’s homes, however, as frontline carers are not professional staff, they are facing much pressure in taking care of these children and somehow affect the service quality. (3) There is a growing trend for children to stay longer in residential service, in some cases, children who are over 10 years old may have already been living with 7 to 8 foster families and small group homes and gradually getting distrustful towards people. Some children wished to live with their own families, regrettably, they had not been satisfied. (4) Sometimes due to the complexity of the family situations (no stable accommodation or moving to other service boundaries) and division of labour among districts, such cases have to undergo referral to different service units. Social worker who takes up the case would have to study it all over and it takes time to establish relationship, sometimes, information of the case might be lost and would affect the service provided to both children and families. (5) Professionals of various disciplines are holding different standards on follow up plan or parenting skills of parents, and thus stagnation occur in long-term welfare planning. It is therefore necessary to establish an objective indicator or mechanism in cross-disciplinary collaboration.

In order to protect children at risk and support families effectively, we urge the departments concerned to improve the existing service planning, system and legislation such as:


1. Raise awareness towards child abuse and conduct comprehensive review

The Social Welfare Department (SWD) is conducting a 3-year review on “The Procedures for Handling Child Abuse Cases” and there will be consultation in phases, taking this opportunity, it is suggested to explore the following areas for improvement as well: public education on protection for children, legislation, policies, mechanisms, professional assessments and data, etc. For example, to establish a standard for the public and public education on the awareness on child abuse and protection of children; to adjust the focus and direction of the multi-disciplinary case conferences; to develop professionalism and crisis assessment tools and indicators for local use.


2. Review residential child care service and design long term service planning

In order to provide timely service for high-risk children and families, sufficient emergency places is very important. It is necessary to increase provision of appropriate and emergency services for infants and children. However, the existing residential service has long been under shortage of manpower and pressure on caring, the government must conduct comprehensive review and service planning to enhance the service. These measures include: to improve the manpower and caring ratio and its environmental facilities, to enhance professionalism of frontline caring staff, to develop new service model to handle complicated cases, and to strengthen foster care service, etc.


3. Develop an integrated data bank on children at risk to get hold of these children and their families’ situation

It is suggested that SWD should compile existing information on children using residential service into an integrated data bank so that social workers can access to these data and get hold of their situations. In addition, it is also necessary to review and enhance the existing reporting procedure of child abuse cases to SWD to maximise the function of data bank for social workers to understand the development of children to devise better service planning. The development of an integrated data bank on children at risk must be done in the long run.


4. Establish a Permanency Planning Committee and work out objective assessment tools

It is suggested to borrow overseas experiences to enhance the awareness and importance of long term welfare planning on children and establish a Permanency Planning Committee (Note 1) to include independent persons who are familiar with children rights and welfare services, officials of SWD and senior figures of NGOs, responsible case workers and those who work closely with children to monitor and review its implementation and make recommendation on children who would stay on a long term basis in residential setting. Furthermore, the government could make references to the Permanency Planning Guidelines (Note 2) of New South Wales to plan, implement and assess its related indicator together with the sector. Its contents should include the relevant legislation requirement, division of labour and responsibilities of all parties concerned, work out a long term welfare planning procedure and practical tools (such as guidelines on decision to reunion, guidelines on frequency of contact between child and family, observation on child and parent behavior and assessment checklist etc.) so that the sector could have a consistent method and standard to work towards the goal for ultimate well -being of children.


5. Legislation on basic children welfare

Under the present legal system, if a parent cannot take care of his child, basically there is no consequence if it does not concern abuse or negligence. While we emphasise on parents’ rights, we shall at the same time focus our attention on parents’ responsibility to protect his child’s basic welfare and rights. We suggest the government to take reference from Children’s Act 1989 of the United Kingdom to establish a welfare checklist (note 3) for our children. It enables parents to recognise their responsibility to protect their children’s basic welfare and on the other hand, when a parent chooses not to fulfil his responsibility to protect the basic welfare of his child, the court has the right to review whether or not to deprive his right as parent and explore other way out for the child.


Note 1:
Permanency Planning Committee in North Dakota USA:
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/policymanuals/62405/Content/Archive%20Documents/624_05_15_75_ml3206.htm

Note 2:
http://www.community.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0019/322246/permplan_guidelines.pdf

Note 3:
www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1989/41/section/1

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-03-30 16:13
前往目錄

 

019期2017年5月

保護在危兒童 支援受困家庭

香港的家庭問題越趨複雜,不少家庭因種種的困難而未能為孩子提供適切的照顧,孩子甚或受到危機的威脅,例如:孩子受到虐待;父母因濫藥/ 精神問題/ 身體問題/ 家庭突變等,未能照顧孩子。面對這些危急的處境,孩子需要有安穩的住處、理想的照顧和培育,才能克服成長的創傷。整個家庭亦需要得到支援及改變,孩子才有回家的路,家庭才有重建的機會!

然而,現時支援在危兒童及家庭的服務卻面對著不同的困難和存有服務縫隙,包括:(1)嬰兒及兒童緊急宿位嚴重不足,未能即時保障孩子的安全。一些孩子即使被界定為虐兒個案,亦無奈地滯留在醫院,直至能覓得緊急宿位。(2)兒童之家及兒童院正收納三成多經歷虐兒創傷及超過四成被評為有特別需要的孩子,而前線照顧者全非專業同工,照顧壓力非常嚴峻,亦影響照顧的質素。(3)孩子留在兒童住宿照顧服務的年期有增加的趨勢,有十多歲的孩子曾居於七、八個寄養家庭及兒童之家,難以信任他人。有孩子從未與家人同住,心底裡對家人及家庭的渴望長久得不到滿足。(4)因家庭問題非常複雜及服務之間的分工,家庭個案常會在不同的服務單位間轉移,例如父母居無定所或經常搬遷,社工便需按父母的居住區域把個案轉介至新地區的綜合家庭服務中心,新社工需要重新了解個案及與家人建立關係,部份個案的資料及孩子被虐或照顧的歷史或因轉介而流失,影響對孩子及家庭的全面理解及持續跟進。(5)現時在跨界別合作上,不同的專業及社工或會持不同的角度去評定兒童的跟進計劃及家長的親職能力,因缺乏機制或客觀指標,以致個案的長遠福利計劃因未能達成共識而處於膠著狀態。

為更有效保護在危的孩子和支援家庭,本處促請當局在現時的服務規劃、制度及法律下作出改善:

(一)提升對兒童受虐的關注,作全面的檢討

社會福利署正進行為期三年檢討「處理虐待兒童個案程序指引」的工作,並分時段作諮詢。建議在檢討「指引」的過程中,同時發掘香港在保護兒童的公眾教育、法例、政策、機制、專業評估及數據等需進一步改進的地方。例如建立社會的標準及教育公眾對虐兒及兒童保護的意識,改善現時運用多專業個案會議的方向及焦點,發展專業及本土化的危機評估工具及量度指標等。

(二)檢視兒童住宿照顧服務及作長遠服務規劃

在及時支援高危兒童及家庭時,足夠的緊急宿位是首要的,必須盡快增加適切嬰幼兒、兒童的緊急照顧服務,但不應擠壓現時的兒童住宿服務,以免影響照顧兒童的質素,因現時的服務已無法承托額外的需求,加上緊急服務與輪候長期服務息息相關,服務持續面對人手及照顧的壓力,政府必須作整體的檢視及服務規劃,與業界一起優化服務,包括:改善現時的照顧比例及環境設施、提升前線照顧同工的專業資格、發展新的服務模式以應付複雜的個案、加強發展寄養服務等。

(三)發展整全在危兒童的資料庫,全面掌握兒童及家庭的狀況

為更準確及全面地評估在危兒童及家庭的狀況,並作出適切的福利計劃,建議社會福利署先整理現時已收集到入住兒童住宿服務的資料,讓個案社工有機會接觸這些資料,以兒童為本位地了解他們接受住宿服務及家庭照顧的狀况。此外,現時虐兒個案亦需呈報社署的保護兒童資料系統,然而有關的資料庫能發揮的效用相當有限,必須作檢視及優化,始能讓社工更掌握兒童成長的歷程,更有效作出保護及清晰地訂立長遠福利計劃,長遠須探討發展更整全的在危兒童資料庫。

(四)成立兒童長遠福利委員會及訂定客觀的評估工具

建議政府仿效外國的經驗,整體提升對兒童長遠福利計劃的重視程度,並成立兒童長遠福利計劃委員會(Permanency Planning Committee)註1,可包括熟悉兒童權利及兒童福利服務的獨立人士、社署官員及社福機構高層人員、個案負責工作人員和與兒童相關的主要人士,共同監察及檢視長期居住於住宿服務兒童的長遠福利計劃推行情況,並作出建議。再者,政府亦可參考外國的經驗,如澳洲新南威爾斯的 Permanency Planning Guidelines 註2,聯同業界就兒童的長遠福利計劃訂定、推行及進度評估提供指引及相關指標,內容應包括相關立法要求、各方面的分工及責任、訂定長遠福利計劃的程序及實際工具(如決定回家團聚指引、兒童與家人接觸密度的考慮指引,和兒童及家長行為觀察及評量清單等 ),讓業界能有一致的做法及指標為兒童的長遠福利計劃而努力。

(五)立法界定兒童基本福利

在現時的法律制度下,家長若未能照顧子女的需要,只要不是虐待或疏忽照顧子女,基本上是沒有任何法律後果的。故社會在重視家長權利的同時,亦應重視家長在保障子女基本福利的責任及兒童的權利。我們建議政府借鏡英國的 Children’s Act 1989,立法界定兒童基本福利清單(welfare checklist)註3,一方面教育家長明白自己在保障兒童基本福利的責任,另一方面,當家長選擇不履行自己保障子女基本福利的責任時,法庭有權為着兒童的長遠福利而檢視應否剝奪家長作為父母的權利,為兒童尋找其他出路。


註1:
美國North Dakota 的Permanency Planning Committee: http://www.nd.gov/dhs/policymanuals/62405/Content/Archive%20Documents/624_05_15_75_ml3206.htm

註2:
澳洲新南威爾斯的Permanercy Planning Guidelines: http://www.community.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0019/322246/permplan_guidelines.pdf

註3:
英國的Children’s Act 1989 welfare checklist: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1989/41/section/1

本頁完