Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-04-24 12:55
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 018
2017 March

Future pillars of our society is rooted in child education

Globally, there might not be a common direction in child education for the past decades but there is one thing in common - they are all geared to the actual situation and practicable regardless of whether they are universal measures or targetted at children with special needs . According to statistics of the Education Bureau in September 2015, there are more than 180,000 children aged 3-5 which implies that there is a huge number of families being affected.

The fiscal surplus of Hong Kong in 2017 is 92.8 billion, with such a handsome profits, the government can design an inclusive, harmonous, innovative and competitive Hong Kong. In order to achieve comprehensive and fair allocation of resources and the principal of justice, the Council of Non-profit Making Organisations for Pre-primary Education (CNOPE) proposed the following recommendations:

  1. Child education is the foundation of life long education, it is not a commodity, it should not be operated by a market-oriented mechanism.
  2. Re-plan the policy on care and education for children aged 0-3

    Services provided by child care centres and nurseries of the Social Welfare Department has come to a standstill for more than 20 years. They have long departed from the practical needs and standards in terms of service quantity, standards, regulations and fees. The government should review the subvention mode, manpower ratio, qualification of nursery teachers and their salaries. A people-oriented government should collaborate with all departments and districts concerned to ensure resources are in place, as well as to encourage community and NGOs to operate innovative service in order to provide diversified service which could meet the needs of parents and children flexibly.

  3. Implementing a truly free child education policy

    It is the right of every child to enjoy free and quality education, therefore, it should be free be it in half-day, whole day or long whole day mode.

  4. Focus on research, monitoring and planning of children development

    We suggest setting up a data bank for children aged 0-8 so as to grasp their potential needs on medical, education, rehabilitation and community facilities etc.

  5. Enhancing professionalism of nursery teachers

    The government should introduce degree programmes for nursery teachers and establish salary scales for diploma and degree holding teachers in order to attract and retain quality teachers. The government should provide allowance for school based development to promote and develop research and sharing among professionals, eventually developing a children-oriented curriculum suitable and cater to the uniqueness of Hong Kong.

  6. Rendering appropriate support to children’s diversity, promoting social inclusion

    In view of the diversity of children and complexity of families, the government should provide enough support for schools since early identification of problems and effective support are crucial. These include a “support first then assess” integrated education policy, a nursery teacher with special education qualification to monitor closely and adjust the curriculum to support children with special education needs. Other means such as providing more social workers to station at schoolsto identify crisis at an early stage, maintaining a certain ratio of non Chinese students or mildly intellectual disabled children, all these enable children to learn mutual inclusion, respect, care and love when they are small.

The future of Hong Kong is rooted in quality education to our children today. The government should address to the needs of working parents and their long working hours. The government should have long term and effective planning in order to realise a policy that is child-oriented, focus on the family, and provides free quality child education. The commercialisation of child education phenomena should be rectified, instead, to re-position care and education for children aged below 3, to re-structure and plan a robust system, to establish cross departmental collaboration mechanism for a sustainable and stable quality development. It is important to ensure that our children can receive quality education irrespective of background or ability, and ultimately meeting the target of children come first.

We always take child education seriously and are dedicated to mobilising social inclusion, We highly recognise the recommendations by the Council, if they could be implemented, all stakeholders will benefit.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-03-30 17:26
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

018期2017年3月

培育社會棟樑 扎根幼兒教育

綜觀全球各地政府在過往數十年所採取的幼兒教育方針雖不盡相同,但無論普及方案,或為特定兒童組群而設的措施,均以當地實況和切實可行為依歸。據2015年9月教育局的統計,3-5歲幼稚園兒童人數逾18萬,已意味背後受影響的家庭數目龐大。

2017年香港盈餘高達928億,政府在經濟上有豐厚的條件規劃一個共融、和諧、有創意和具競爭力的香港。為求教育政策達到全面及資源分配公平、公義的原則,非牟利幼兒教育機構議會有如下建議︰

  1. 幼兒教育是終身學習的基礎,不應被視為商品,以市場機制運作。
  2. 重新規劃0-3歲幼兒的照顧與教育服務政策

    社會福利署提供的幼兒中心及育嬰園服務卻停滯超逾20年,無論在服務量、標準、法例及收費上,均大大脫離實際的需求和水平。政府必須重新檢視資助模式、人手比例、幼兒教師學歷及薪酬等。一個「以人為本」的政府,應該匯聚各個部門和地區,共同協作,使資源調配更到位,並且鼓勵社區和志願機構營辦創新服務,使服務模式多元化,增加服務的供應量,並能夠靈活地滿足不同家長和兒童的需要。

  3. 落實真正免費的幼兒教育

    享有免費而優質的幼兒教育,是每一位兒童成長的權利,因此不論是半日制、全日制或長全日制的多元學制,均應免費提供。

  4. 重視兒童的成長需要研究、督導和規劃

    我們建議確立0-8歲兒童的資料庫,以全面掌握兒童對醫療、教育、復康及社區設施等的潛在需求。

  5. 提升幼兒教師專業質素

    政府應訂定幼師學位化的時間表,並確立文憑及學位幼師的薪級表,以吸引及挽留人才。政府亦應給予校本發展津貼,以推動教研實踐,促進專業團隊的研習和分享,建立真正適切於香港本地特色與兒童本位的課程。

  6. 適切支援兒童的多樣性,推動社會共融文化

    基於兒童的多樣性及家庭的複雜情況,從及早辨識及有效支援的角度考慮,政策應為學校提供足夠的支援,包括:「先支援後評估」的融合教育政策;配備一位具特殊幼教資歷的專責教師,以跟進及調適全校的課程,支援有特殊學習需要的學童;增設駐校社工服務,及早辨識危機;不論是非華語學童或已辨識為輕度學習弱能的兒童,每校應設一定的收納比例,真正達致共融,讓幼兒自小學習共融、尊重和關愛。

香港未來的發展,植根於今天對孩子的優質培育。政府應按本地普遍長工時、雙職家長的經濟民生實況,正視長遠及有效規劃,逐步實現以兒童為本、家庭為重的免費優質幼兒教育政策,修正幼兒培育商品化的狀況,將3歲以下的嬰幼兒照顧及教育服務重新定位、重整及規劃健全的架構系統,建立跨部門合作機制,使幼兒教育得以持續、穩定地優質發展,有效保障本地幼兒不論背景及能力表現,都獲得優質的培育,做到以兒童為優先的目標。

本處一向重視幼兒教育,亦致力推動社會共融,對議會提出的建議非常認同,如能落實以上建議,整個幼兒教育都會受惠。

本頁完