Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-01-05 11:05
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 016
2016 November

C-for-Chinese by JC

Learning Chinese has always been considered as special needs for non-Chinese speaking students; otherwise they are treated like any other Chinese speaking students and that schools are major places to learn, however, learning a language needs application to daily life. Therefore, the Jockey Club Charities Trust launched and donated a life-wide learning pioneer project to non-Chinese speaking kindergarten children to learn Chinese, trying to breakthrough the conventional mode of thinking and uses the approach of responding to culture and connect with everyday life experience. Tier learning model is used in response to learning diversity to facilitate learning and teaching.

With the funding from the Jockey Club Charities Trust, the University of Hong Kong (HKU), Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), Hong Kong Education University, Hong Kong SKH Lady MacLehose Centre and we launch this five-year pioneer project. Through connecting with schools, community and families, the project recruits non-Chinese speaking students from kindergartens in Yau Tsim Mong, Shamshuipo and Kwai Tsing districts, to form a life-wide learning responsive mode. An evidence-based research would be conducted to evaluate the effectiveness in improving the learning of language and to develop principles and framework of learning Chinese and its related assessment tools as reference for preschool and related professionals.

This pioneering project attempts to breakthrough limits of teaching venues. It extends from classrooms and schools to community and family, providing more opportunities for students to learn and apply what they have learnt. At school level, HKU designs a learning curriculum and syllabus to respond to its multi-cultural nature, Hong Kong Education University trains non-Chinese speaking youth as teaching assistants and places them in kindergartens to support kindergarten teachers in teaching Chinese to non-Chinese speaking students.

At the community level, PolyU sets up a Chinese Language Discovery Centre, to combine games and multi media with the curriculum and syllabus designed by HKU to support Chinese learning of the non-Chinese speaking students outside classrooms. While SKH Lady MacLehose Centre and we work on the family level to explore cultural resources within the families to guide them to learn Chinese as well as initiates parents to complement school syllabus to build up an environment for their children to learn Chinese at home. Furthermore, there are also support services to be provided when their children go to primary schools, Chinese speaking volunteers are also engaged in cultural exchange activities to enable more interaction with people of different cultural backgrounds to promote trans-cultural harmony.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-09-22 15:12
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

016期2016年11月

賽馬會友趣學中文計劃

長久以來,社會把非華語學童的「學習中文」需要視作特殊需要,又或把他們等同一般華語學童看待,並視學校為主要的教育學習場所,但語文學習必須要有應用的機會。有見及此,香港賽馬會慈善信託基金策劃及捐助一項全方位支援非華語幼稚園學生學習中文計劃,嘗試突破這個傳統的思維模式,從文化回應角度入手,讓學習連繫學生的生活經驗,並透過分層教學回應學習差異,以促進教與學的效能。

香港賽馬會慈善信託基金透過捐助本處、香港大學、香港理工大學、香港教育大學及香港聖公會麥理浩夫人中心,聯合策動此項為期五年的先導計劃,於油尖旺區、深水埗區、荃葵青區招募有招收非華語學生的幼稚園一同合作,透過連結學校、社區及家庭三個層面,建構一個「家、社、校」的全方位文化回應模式,並就其提升非華語幼稚園學生學習中文能力的成效進行實證研究,發展一套學習中文的原則和進程架構及相關的評估工具,為日後學前教育及相關專業界別樹立參考範本。

此項先導計劃嘗試突破場所局限,由學校和課堂學習延伸到社區和家庭,為學童提供更多「學得」和「習得」的機會。在學校層面,香港大學將設計一套回應多元文化的學習課程及教材;至於如何施教,則交由香港教育大學向幼稚園老師提供培訓。香港教育大學同時會提供課程,培訓非華裔青少年成為「多元文化教學助理」,及安排他們於幼稚園內實習,以支援幼師對非華語學生的中文教學。

至於社區層面的服務,香港理工大學將創建一所「中文探知館」,把遊戲及多媒體結合香港大學設計的文化回應課程,支援非華語幼稚園學生在課室以外的中文學習。而本處和香港聖公會麥理浩夫人中心,則著手於家庭層面的工作,以發掘家庭內的文化寶藏,由此引導非華語學生投入中文學習,也引發家長配合學校課程,於家庭內一同建構學習中文的語言環境。另一方面,社區和家庭層面的服務,亦包括跟進非華語幼稚園學生升讀小學的支援服務,並會招募華語義工參與文化交流活動,加強不同文化背景的人的相互認識,促進跨文化的共融。

本頁完