Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-04-08 12:53
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 012
2016 March

Our opinion on Pilot Scheme on
Community Care Service Voucher for the Elderly

Our Deputy Director (Service and Development) Miss Chak Tung Ching and Superintendent of our Shun Lee Home for the Elderly Miss Tong Yee Lai Andy together with Hong Kong Council of Social Service and representatives of the field voiced their opinions in the special meeting of the Panel on Welfare Service of the Legislative Council on 6 February regarding the second phase of the Pilot Scheme on Community Care Service Voucher for the Elderly (Pilot Scheme).

"Ageing in place" has always been the basic principle of Elderly Policy and it is also the desire of most elders. The Elderly Commission commissioned a consultant to conduct a research on elderly community service in 2010 to explore a more flexible and diversified service model. The government then adopted the recommendation of the consultant and with an allocation of $0.38 billion from Lotteries Fund, the first phase of the Pilot Scheme began in September 2013. Sau Po Centre on Ageing of the University of Hong Kong was commissioned to conduct an evaluation study on the first phase of the Pilot Scheme.

The mid term evaluation has been completed and with regard to the implementation of second phase, the government put forward some suggestions to be discussed in January and February at the Panel on Welfare Services, including: (1) To expand the scope of service users such as apart from impairment at moderate level as assessed by phase one, elders who are severely impaired are also included. (2) An additional 1800 vouchers will be issued, furthermore, service area expanded from the original eight districts to 18 districts all over Hong Kong. (3) Value of the vouchers will be changed from $6,259 in the first phase to five vouchers of different values (ie, $8,300, $7,000, $6,250, $5,000 and $3,500). (4) The five levels of co-payment of the first phase will be increased to six in the second phase. (5) The government also recommends private organisations as recognised service providers in the second phase. (6) Apart from conducting sudden visits and random samplings as in the first phase, a central working group will be formed for monitoring and providing assistance to voucher users.

With regard to the recommendations put forward by the government, what the field concerns most was the introduction of private organisations as recognised service providers. The government should first have a careful, effective and transparent monitoring mechanism with sufficient manpower to ensure service quality before introducing private organisations to the Pilot Scheme. The field is conducting studies about calculation of cost, indicators for effectiveness that have yet been completed. Furthermore, the framework about long term care and its planning also require more in-depth study. Therefore, apart from monitoring service quality, the government should primarily clarify the fundamental concerns of the Pilot Scheme such as an objective and effective assessment tools to establish a reasonable value for the vouchers according to the needs of elders, a reasonable ratio of co-payment method, and the establishment of an effective and comprehensive case management system. At present, the government is unable to disclose the manpower planning and the operation details of the central working group, whether it can serve its roles to manage cases and monitor them are still unknown.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-03-22 12:56
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

012期2016年3月

本處就「長者社區照顧服務券試驗計劃」
(第二階段)表達意見

本處副總幹事(服務及發展) 翟冬青女士及順利安老院院長唐懿麗女士聯同社聯及業界同工,於2月6日到立法會出席福利事務委員會特別會議,就「長者社區照顧服務券試驗計劃」( 下稱「服務券」計劃) 第二階段發言。

「居家安老」一直是政府安老政策的基本原則,也是大部份長者的心願。安老事務委員會(安委會)於2010年委託顧問進行長者社區照顧服務顧問研究,探討如何透過更靈活和多元化的服務模式,更好地提供社區照顧服務。期後政府採納安委會建議並獲得獎券基金撥款3.8億元,於2013年9月開展「服務券」計劃第一階段試驗計劃,委託香港大學秀圃老年研究中心,就第一階段試驗計劃進行評估研究。

近月已經完成有關的中期評估,就第二階段「服務券」的執行,政府提出了多項建議, 並於本年一、二月的立法會福利事務委員會中討論,包括:(1)擴大服務對象範圍,除如第一階段經過安老服務統一評估機制評估為身體機能中度缺損的長者外,對象亦會包括經評估為身體機能嚴重缺損的長者。(2)服務名額將發出額外1,800張服務券;另覆蓋範圍將會由八個地區擴展至全港十八區。(3)服務券價值會由第一階段6,250元改為五種不同價值的服務券(即8,300元、7,000元、6,250元、5,000元及3,500元)。(4)共同付款安排和經濟狀況審查方面,第一階段採用五個層遞式的共同付款金額水平,至第二階段將採用六個。(5)政府亦建議第二階段會將認可服務提供者的類別擴大至加入私營機構。(6)就監察認可服務提供者和協助服務券使用者方面,除沿用第一階段的突擊探訪及抽察檢查外,社署將成立一個「中央工作組」,進行監察及為服務券使用者提供協助。

就政府所提出的建議,業界普遍對於第二階段「服務券」計劃是否開放予私營機構參與有強烈保留。我們認為政府在考慮引入私營市場之前,必須審慎地制定一套嚴謹、有效及具透明度的服務質素監察機制,及有足夠的人手配套,以確保質素。業界正進行關於服務成本計算、成效指標的研究,現階段仍未完成,尚有多項長期護理服務的基建及規劃仍待更深入研究,故我們認為除服務質素監察問題外,政府應先釐清「服務券」計劃的核心關注重點,包括訂定一套客觀、具效度的評估機制,以致能按長者需要訂定合理的服務券面值;釐定合理的共同付款比率;及訂定一套有效而全面的個案管理制度等。現階段政府仍未能透露建議內「中央工作組」的具體人手規劃及運作細節,故未知能否真正做好個案管理及服務監察的工作。

本頁完