Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-02-22 16:27
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 011
2016 January

Autistic children are afraid of darkness and haircut
Anxiety removed by meticulous effort

Things which are commonplace to every one of us may seem unacceptable for children with special needs. In order to raise the quality of life for autistic children, our Morrison Hill Children Development Centre designed two activities for children to learn to adapt to cinema and haircut, to help them to mingle into these ordinary daily life activities.

Mini cinema

Autistic children are very persistent to daily routine, they would insist on a single activity. They might have very different responses to sensory stimulation, and it could easily arouse their negative feelings in a cinema which is dark.

Aims of mini cinema

  • Let children experience the atmosphere of movie appreciation
  • Through games (cinema) help children to adapt

In order to enable children to adapt, we would adjust step by step

  1. prepare a video for teacher to show in the classroom (light environment)
  2. turn off lights in the classroom (games of light and dark), simulate the real situation (cinema in darkness)
  3. Show trailer, play games of selling tickets and finding the seats
  4. Buy snacks before entering the cinema/finding the seats/to sit still
  5. Enter the cinema to watch movies

Design of the setting

The simulate cinema attracts participation from children, such as the seats coordinates, light and dark setting, design of movie tickets, all these enable children to look for the seats according to seats number. Other designs such as snacks shop and ticketing office enable students to experience the buying tickets process through communication and with languages skills. All these strengthen children’s confidence to prepare them to integrate into the community.

I want to have my hair cut

Apart from cinema, hair cutting is also another frustrating issue to autistic children, therefore, whenever they need a haircut, both the children and parents are very nervous.

To solve this problem, we invited volunteers from Hong Chi Association to demonstrate the haircut process to reduce the negative feeling of these children.

  1. Watching the video of hair cutting together
  2. Simulation of haircut
  3. Children experiencing haircut (from simulation to real situation)
  4. Arranging the cards of haircut process
  5. Teacher and children together read stories about haircut in social life and practice at home

Since there was a lot of psychological preparation for these children (such as: watching haircut video, imaginary corner, arranging picture cards and stories of social life etc), most of the children were calm and no big emotional outbursts during hair cutting.

About Morrison Hill Children Development Center
Our Morrison Hill Children Development Centre is the first integrated children development center to provide early education and training cum special child care service. We provide services to children aged 0 to 6 with special needs and their parents referred by the Central Referral System of Social Welfare Department.

 

 



End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-02-05 18:31
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

011期2016年1月

自閉症兒童怕黑怕剪髮 中心花心思解兒童焦慮

一般人看似很普通的事情,對有特殊障礙的小朋友簡簡單單的生活環節卻是很不容易接受。為提升患有自閉症兒童的生活質素,本處摩理臣山兒童發展中心的同工花了許多心思為學員悉心設計「適應去看電影」和「適應理髮」兩個學習活動,幫助小朋友融入日常生活。

小小電影院

患有自閉症的兒童,對生活日程很固執,堅持單一的活動模式,對不同的感官刺激有不同程度的偏差;在漆黑的戲院欣賞電影,往往容易令兒童產生負面情緒。為了讓學童體驗到戲院欣賞電影的氣氛,我們會透過社區遊戲[戲院]幫助學童適應。

分階段處理助兒童適應

  1. 事前準備一輯影片,讓老師在課室(光的環境)播放給學童觀看
  2. 老師在課室預先玩熄燈遊戲(光暗遊戲),模擬情景(黑暗影院)
  3. 預告影片,玩售票遊戲及找坐位
  4. 入場前購買小食/ 找出坐位位置/ 保持安坐
  5. 進入戲院欣賞電影

模擬影院環境

模擬影院能吸引學童參與活動,包括影院內模擬座位的座標,光暗的設計、戲票的設計,令學童嘗試按戲票的標示找座位。另外設計小食部及售票處,讓學童經歷購買、與人溝通、說話等社交活動,增強學童的自信心及為將來融入社區作準備。

我要剪髮

除了上電影院,原來剪頭髮這生活必須部份,都容易令患有自閉症的兒童產生情緒問題。因此,要替他們剪髮,每每令家長和兒童都感到焦慮。

剪髮前的心理預備
要解決這問題,我們邀請了匡智會義工示範剪髮過程,希望藉此減低學童因剪髮帶來的負面情緒:

  1. 學童一同觀看剪髮短片
  2. 學童透過假想角模擬剪髮過程
  3. 學童親身體驗剪髮過程 (從模擬至實習)
  4. 學童排列剪髮程序圖咭
  5. 老師與學童伴讀剪髮社交故事,並在家中練習

由於在活動前做了許多學童心理預備功夫 (例如:欣賞剪髮短片、假想角、排列圖咭及社交故事等),故大部份學童在剪髮的過程情緒表現穩定,並沒有出現太大的波動。

關於摩理臣山兒童發展中心 是本處首個提供早期教育及訓練中心服務暨特殊幼兒中心服務的綜合性兒童發展中心,專為由社會福利署中央轉介組轉介之初生至6歲有特殊需要兒童及其家長提供服務。

 



本頁完