Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-12-23 19:43
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 010
2015 November

Pressing need to rebuild the rental market

As at the end of September 2015, there were 28.5 million applications on the public rental housing (PRH) waiting list while there is a significant amount of low income families living in partition units, factories, pig sties and coffin rooms waiting for their turn. This phenomenon reflects the insufficient supply of public housing and the unmet rental needs of low income families. The departments concerned should conduct a comprehensive review of the rental policy in response to the needs for rental housing.

Increase rental housing supply

Property vacancy (note 1) has always been criticised. In 2013 the government had attempted to introduce vacant property tax to tackle with hoarding and profiteering, speculation, and those owners who are waiting for a good price to sell their properties. However, this was withdrawn as the vacancy, as pointed out by the department concerned, was low. The department concerned has always been considered slipshod in their statistical calculation of vacancy.It is then difficult for the general public to understand why the government does not increase developers’and investors’cost through the introduction of vacancy property tax which in turn might encourage investors to rent out their properties.

Rent control and security of tenure

Apart from increasing supply of rental housing, security of tenure (note 2) is another effective means to reconstruct the rental market. The departments concerned should conduct research into rent control and security of tenure and make recommendations. Even though there are successful and unsuccessful overseas examples,the government was seen as biased on this matter as much emphasis was put on unsuccessful cases in past reports.

The percentage increase of rent has become unaffordable for most of the people. Fluctuations follow the economic cycles. If so, why the government does not make use of its 2003 rent control (note 3) experience and use successful overseas examples to formulate a control policy suitable for Hong Kong?

Housing policy is not just strategies about land development and supply, the government should consider how to allocate the land fairly, how to balance the investment value of domestic property against the real need of living, and how to make the best use of our housing resources etc. Under such an atmosphere of commercialisation of domestic properties,if the government thinks it can still rely on the market activities to protect rental market,it is just self-deception. Apart from rebuilding the rental market as mentioned above, the government could also embrace open-mindedness to an alternative style of living, such as“Light Home”a housing scheme by Lightbe (a social enterprise), to encourage conscientious owners to offer opportunities for grass root families. Domestic housing is a daily necessity for the general public which needs determination from the government to solve the housing problems in Hong Kong.


Note 1:
according to Rating and Valuation Department, private units in 2014 the vacancy was 3.8%, (43,263 units). Local bodies, however, based on the data of Census and Statistics Department, pointed out that people living in private units is 9.7% less than the number of private units.

Note 2:
In 1981 the government had drawn up security of tenure during which there was an acute shortage of domestic units, therefore individual owners had greater bargaining power and could increase the rent upon renewal of tenancy agreement, therefore the government introduce rental control to protect the rights of the tenants, unless the owner can give strong reasons (such as reconstruction, self-use, rent arrears) otherwise the owners cannot refuse renewal of contract in general.

Note 3:
Rent control and security of tenures were withdrawn completely in 1998 and 2004 respectively.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-12-14 12:44
前往目錄

 

010期2015年11月

重建租賃市場,刻不容緩

公屋輪候冊上最新申請公屋的數字(截至2015年9月底)已經有28.5萬,不少低收入家庭仍在劏房、工廈,甚至是豬欄屋、棺材房中苦等公屋。這個現象除了反映公屋的供應量極為不足外,亦告知我們基層市民的租屋需求未能得到滿足,我們認為當局在其「促進置業、增建公屋」的政策外,亦極需對現時的租賃政策進行大幅度的檢討,正視市民的租住需求。

增加租賃市場供應

事實上,物業空置(註1)的問題一直為人詬病,政府亦曾於2013年意圖藉推出物業空置稅打擊地產商囤積居奇,及投資者空置物業、待價而沽的行為,可惜最後當局以物業空置率低為由擱置此建議。但不得不提的是當局對物業空置率的統計一直被批評為粗疏,當局如不投入更多的資源及使用具科學化的方法進行統計,讓社會能夠真正掌握住宅資源的使用情況,實難以說服市民為何政府不透過推出物業空置稅增加投資者的「空置成本」,以鼓勵他們將物業投入租賃市場增加租盤的供應。

租金與租住權管制

除了增加租盤供應,租住權管制(註2)亦是另一個有效重建租賃市場的手段。當局亦應為租金與租住權管制進行研究,並提出建議方案。雖然有關的管制政策在世界各地都有成功及失敗的例子,可是在當局過往提出的報告中,卻予人偏重於失敗例子,以得出進行管制是如何的「弊多於利」的結論之感,這未免讓人覺得政府在這事上並不持平。

現時租金的升幅遠超過市民的負擔能力已是不爭的事實,租金的高位亦可能隨?經濟週期重複出現,如是這樣,為何當局不建基於香港在2003年之前推行租金管制(註3)的經驗上,再從其他城市的成功經驗汲取養份,制定合乎本地需要的管制政策呢?

房屋政策並不純粹是土地開發及供應的策略,政府更應思考如何公平地分配土地;如何平衡住宅物業的投資價值及真實住屋需要;並如何最有效地使用房屋資源等。在住宅商品化的社會風氣下,如果政府以為可以單靠市場行為維護租賃市場,難免讓人感到自欺欺人。除上文提及的重建租賃市場以外,政府亦可考慮以開放思維鼓勵另類住屋方式,鼓勵良心業主,例如本地社企「要有光」社會地產推行的「光房」計劃(註4),便為基層的困難家庭提供了另類的選擇。住屋是市民大眾的生活必需品,極需政府拿出決心解決香港的住屋問題。


(註1)
根據差餉物業估價署數據,私人單位於2014 年的空置率為3.8%(43,263 間),民間團體則根據統計處數據,指出有人居住的私樓單位較整體私樓單位數目少9.7%。

(註2)
政府曾於1981 年訂下租住權管制,當時本港的住所單位嚴重短缺,在住宅供應遠追不上需求的情況下,個別業主有較大的議價能力,可能會在重訂租約時大幅加租,故政府曾引入租住權管制,以保障租客利益,除非業主能夠提出某些特殊理由(如重建、收回自住或租客欠租),否則業主一般不能拒絕約滿後續租。

(註3)
港府分別於1998年及2004年全面撤銷租金及租務管制。

(註4)
「光房」計劃:https://www.lightbe.hk/scheme.html

 

本頁完