Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-08-19 12:44
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 008
2015 July

An Inclined "Free kindergarten Education"

The long-awaited report by the Committee on Free Kindergarten Education finally came out in May, however it was a big disappointment, the so-called “fully subsidy” is in fact a half-day (3 hours) one, there is no qualification assurance framework for kindergarten teachers, no appropriate manpower establishment for schools of different sizes nor academic structure. Debating issues about the Pre-primary Education Voucher Scheme (PEVS) all these years are still unresolved!

Core value of kindergarten education is an all round development on ethics, intellect, physique, social skills and aesthetics. The daily schedule of a whole day (WD)/long whole day (LWD) mode include social skills, self-care abilities, eating, grooming, these are parts of learning, of which “education” and “care” are not that clear-cut, they are also the foundation of an all round development for children.

The report has left out the need from low income and middle income groups. It is only when there is 100% subsidy can it responds to the needs of society and in line with the population policy. However, the Committee only recommends an additional 25-30% resources for WD/LWD school, using existing half day (HD) and WD kindergarten school fees ratio(1:1.6) to calculate, parents still need to pay school fees if not more, in order to cover the extra expenses outside that free three hours, full subsidy is merely empty words.

The government is still indifferent to the childhood education field’s quest for a qualification assurance framework for teachers. The Report recommends that salary for teachers is same as the lump sum grant approach for social service, using mid-point as basis for calculation, and school has to apply for additional grant if the salaries of experienced teachers exceed mid-point. This would create higher operating cost and undue pressure to schools for a competitive remuneration package. It only creates uncertainties of career paths for teachers and also competition among schools at the expenses of small scale schools.

Furthermore, if the size of a school is based on the number of students and staff establishment, this would adversely affect the quality of education. Using one of our nursery schools as an example, we provide 100 students at LWD mode, excluding un-subsidised classes for those aged 2-3, the school would permanently be losing one-fourth of the required resources under the new system, if implemented. However, one must not forget that teaching time for HD is half of WD and one-third of LWD. All these require more input from teachers but depriving them of a career path and professional development.

This inevitably causes a brain drain and is detrimental to school’s survival while children of different academic structure cannot enjoy free and high quality kindergarten education.

The government has the responsibility to rectify uneven distribution of resources. It has to monitor and fine-tuned the subsidy mode to ensure that different academic structure and sizes of schools could receive fair resources distribution otherwise parent’s choices and children’s development would be strangled by an unfair and withering mechanism.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-08-03 16:45
前往目錄

 

008期2015年7月

傾斜的免費幼稚園教育

幼兒教育界引頸以待的免費幼稚園教育委員會報告終於在5月出台,可惜結果令人大失所望,所謂「全面資助」只是資助半日制(即每日三小時),並且仍舊沒有為教師專業資歷階梯設路線圖、也沒有為不同規模及學制的學校度身訂造合適的教職員架構,學券制度種下的種種流弊經過多年拉扯也未見舒緩。

讓幼兒在德、智、體、群、美各方面得到全人、全面的發展,是學前教育的核心價值。全日/長全日制學校安排幼兒上課以外,其校內一整天的流程,包括社交、自理,甚至進食、梳洗都是學習的一部分,不能隨意以「教育」和「照顧」為名切割。這也是讓幼兒能有全人發展的重要基石。

此外報告亦漠視了香港主要的階層:低收入及中產家庭對全日/長全日制學校一向需求甚殷,只有100%的全面資助才配稱是真正配合本地人口政策,回應社會需要,但現時委員會只建議全日/長全日制學校獲額外25-30%的資源,若以現時半日制及全日制幼稚園學費比率(1:1.6)計算,家長仍需繳交甚至多交學費,以補貼三小時以外的學費成本,全面資助頓成空談。

教師專業資歷階梯的設立,是另一項業界爭取經年但至今仍受到政府漠視的重要訴求。報告建議日後教師薪金像社福界現行的一筆過撥款,以「中點薪金」計算,遇到校內資深教師薪金在中點之上,可向局方申請額外撥款,此舉除增添學校營運成本和壓力,亦令薪酬度變得高度市場化,除令教師對業界前路及專業發展深感迷茫,更釀成大小校之間的直接競爭,小校大有機會成為競爭下的犧牲品。

此外,以學生人數界定學校規模及決定教職員人手數量及編制亦不利於提供有質素的幼兒教育,就以本處幼兒教育服務為例,轄下長全日制幼兒學校平均為提供100名學額的學校,扣除不獲資助的2-3歲班,學校在新政策下將永遠失去四分之一的資源,但不要忘記的是全日制的教顧時間是半日制的2倍,長全日制更約是3倍,全日/長全日制的教師付出多,反失去晉升及專業發展機會,定會造成人才大量流失,這除扼殺學校生存空間,更導致使用不同學制的兒童不能同享免費及優質的幼兒教育。

政府有責任改善資源上的嚴重分配失誤與傾斜,並繼續審視及優化幼教資助模式,確保不同學制及規模的學校均享有足夠的資源,否則任何一方因機制不公而萎縮,最終只會扼殺家長選擇權,影響幼兒成長發展的福祉。

 

幼兒教育大聯盟於今年1月11日在中環海濱長廊集會
本處幼兒老師及家長一起組成爭取幼兒教育大聯盟於今年1月11日在中環海濱長廊集會

本頁完