Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-04-09 12:45
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 006
2015 Mar

Outstanding Award – Borrowed space

Shamshuipo is one of the districts with the most high risk and complicated cases. Before our Family Ties Integrated Family Service Centre (FT) started service in Shamshuipo, there are already 4 other Integrated Family Service Centres handling related issues in the districts, however, services provided are still unable to meet the demand. FT was established on 19 December 2011 without a permanent office premise, it is located in an office which is two-third short of provision and has to share with our Service for Young Night Drifters. FT has to provide service for over 80,000 residents in such a condition.

Despite that, FT used "locality care model" (1) to enable our staff to get to know the community and be known to the community within a short period of time. This mode of service facilitates linking with other partners in order to respond to service needs quickly. Through hiring dedicated and experienced staff, FT builds up a comprehensive and flexible management system to support the immense service needs. In order to respond to the unique demand in the community, FT provides material support for those in need.

After two and a half year, the service output and performance of FT had exceeded the funding and service agreement required by Social Welfare Department (SWD), we have also fulfilled the requirement for Service and Performance Monitoring System of SWD. We took up hazardous and complicated cases and challenges such as clients attempting to jump down from scaffolding, threw baby out of the window, fire in partition/ units, flooding in the centre, workers being threatened/videotaped etc. These are no easy task for a new set up centre and our fellow workers, but more important is that 27 staff are crowded in an office with 400 sq. feet. Some of us joked this is a typical partitioned office, however, it can serve a district of more than 90,000 residents, this award is well-deserved.

(1) "locality care model" is to divide service area into small units, each unit is form by a housing estate or private buildings nearby and be responsible by 5-6 workers. Supervisor will try to allocate cases to social workers responsible for a particular unit. In this way, social worker can familiarise with the needs of the unit, to develop networking and to organise activities.


Outstanding award – An amazing journey for
the prevention of mild cognitive impairment project

Mild cognitive impairment has become one of the prime concerns for elderly service. According to statistics, one in 10 elders suffers from mild cognitive impairment. Last year our Shun Lee Neighbourhood Elderly Centre (SLNEC) organised this one-year project "An amazing journey for the prevention of mild cognitive impairment" so that both our clients and staff had accurate information about mild cognitive impairment.

As this project started out with no funding, we persisted in it using the centre's own resources. Every member of staff in the centre received training about mild cognitive impairment and they all became workers after the training. After evaluation of each client’s ability, we divided them into groups, they were: curry, spinach, soy milk and walnut, and trainings were provided to them accordingly. This kind of groupings was fun and according to specialists, these foods are good for mild cognitive impairment patients.

Everyday our worker led the elders to do some workout through physical and brain gym exercises. These exercises were simple but beneficial to the elders. Our workers even invented Sudoku games to stimulate their cognitive power. After a series of training activities, the coordination abilities of elders have greatly improved. Some even became more sociable, it was indeed encouraging to see such changes in the elders.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-03-31 12:08
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

006期2015年3月

卓越事工獎-借來的空間

深水埗可以說其中一個最多高危及複雜個案的地區,在本處「家情綜合家庭服務中心」(下稱「家情」)未加入之前,區內已有4 間綜合家庭服務中心處理相關的問題,但也難以應付大量的個案。「家情」乃於2011年12月19日加入支援深水埗區居民,因仍未有確實的會址,「家情」需要在比規劃少2/3的中心面積及與深宵青少年外展服務(簡稱:「夜展」)共用辦公室的情況下推行服務並服務多達八萬人。

雖然如此,「家情」推行了「小區照顧模式」(1)讓同事在較短的時間內認識地區、展示中心的存在、連結夥伴及更快回應服務需要,並透過聘請「有心人」、建設完善及彈性的行政管理系統,以支援大量的服務需要。中心更因應區內的獨特需要,開拓實物援助的服務。

兩年半以來,「家情」超額完成社會福利署(社署)津貼及服務協議對服務輸出的量和成效的要求,接受了社署服務表現監察制度的評估探訪,並迎接了各項大小的挑戰如數個複雜的危機個案/事故(案主站在大廈的竹棚企跳、擲嬰孩落街、劏房火警、中心水浸、社工被恐嚇/錄影......等),這對一個新的服務單位和團隊來說是非常不容易,更重要的是27位同工辦公的地方是一個處於一個不足400 呎的辦公室,甚至有同工打趣地說:這是一個名符其實的「劏房」辦公室,卻能服務多達9萬人的區域,能榮獲本處卓越事工獎乃實至名歸。

(1)小區照顧模式」是將中心的服務範圍分成多個小區,每小區由一個公共屋邨及附近私人樓宇組成,由5-6 位社工「專責照顧」,主任盡量將居住該區的個案分派予當區社工,以便其知悉該區的需要、發展網絡工作和舉辦小組/ 活動。

舉辦街站,推廣睦鄰訊息
動員義工舉辦嘉年華會,
宣揚正向家庭訊息
親子一起製作環保小手工

卓越事工獎-全民皆兵的「耆妙旅程」

認知障礙症已經成為長者服務中一大關注,據數字顯示,每10 位長者就有一位患上此症,為此,本處順利長者鄰舍中心在過去一年開辦「耆妙旅程」計劃,讓中心長者與同工對認知障礙症有正確認識。

雖然計劃起初未能獲外界撥款,但仍然堅持以中心的資源繼續推動。所有的中心同事從中心主任到職工都接受訓練,並擔任工作員。工作員評估長者的能力後,更趣味性地將其分為四個小組:咖哩、菠菜、豆漿和合桃組,再提供適切的訓練。而刻意用這些食物分組都是因為專家評估這些食物能幫助增強腦力。

每天中心同工帶領長者,一起做健腦操和體適能運動,動手動腳又動腦,雖然只是簡單的招式,但已令長者受益不淺。工作人員甚至自創數獨遊戲,刺激長者的認知能力,不少長者經過了定期密集式的訓練,身體協調的能力和頭腦的靈活程度大大增加。有的長者,更從過去從不會與人溝通,到經過了練習後,現在會主動向工作人員打招呼,甚至說笑。看到長者這些正面而顯著的改變,實在令人鼓舞。

生活化的懷舊治療小組
對有認知障礙傾向的長者,要能清晣地出現在是幾點亦需要經過訓練
職工同事帶領長者
一起練習健腦操5式

本頁完