Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-04-08 9:47
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 006
2015 Mar

Art talent uncovered
An EETC graduate awarded with gold medal

Everyone is beautiful in their own way. Keung Yuk Lun, a student in our Tuen Mun Early Education and Training Centre (TMEETC) won the gold prize in the student division with his painting "In the Field" in "Cross All Borders: Hong Kong Festival Showcasing New Visual Artists with Disabilities 2014" organised by the Arts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong. He won the merit prize in this competition one and a half year ago when he was the youngest among the awardees.

Art opens the door to communication

Yuk Lun is now 7 years old, studying in primary two. He used to be quiet and shy, he did not know how to express himself and seemed restless. It was when he entered the world of art, he began to be very engrossed in art creation. He becomes very enthusiastic whenever he speaks of his paintings, he would joyfully explain to others, and then we are able to enter into his inner world and imagination. Art has opened the door to communication between him and his parents as well as those around him.

Recently, the primary school where Yuk Lun is studying is holding a personal art exhibition for him. Notice boards in school are full of his work. Yuk Lun's mother said, "Yuk Lun loves painting to the extent that he will draw one each day". His parents are planning to publish his paintings with the scholarship. They gave Yuk Lun a 'mission' to let him decide which painting to be included in his art album.

The talent of Yuk Lun was discovered in 2012 when he participated in an art group in TMEETC. At that time, an art training course was co-sponsored by Redford Charitable Foundation and Eco-Home International Limited. Teachers and artists took the students into a different environment of art creation where marking scheme is not the only criteria and students could express themselves freely. In this process, parents let go of their inner conflicts and look at their children from a different perspective and some even explore the imaginative world of their children.

A breakthrough from the tradition and a path to appreciation and respect

At that time, Yuk Lun’s mother participated in the course with Yuk Lun, she at first was also bounded by the traditional concept of art, hoping that Yuk Lun could imitate his painting on real objects, but after the course, she changed her way of thinking about her child and art.

"I used to think as the sky is blue and it should be painted in blue, when the painting is of a different colour, I want it to be changed to blue", said Yuk Lun's mother. It was after a debriefing by teachers in the centre then Yuk Lun's mother learnt that there is no specific style for art, and this however enables her to find more ways to communicate with Yuk Lun.

During the process, she found Yuk Lun very immersed in his paintings, ever when he encountered failure, he can release his frustration naturally through art creation and he has improvements in observation and expressing himself.

Yuk Lun's father also said, "In the one and a half year's training in the centre, apart from hoping that Yuk Lun could eventually enter the mainstream education, his talent blossoms. He is able to express himself in his drawings which let us explore another side of Yuk Lun: his attentiveness, self-confidence and language abilities."

Mrs. Keung also encourages other parents who have similar situations to look at their children through the perspective of appreciation to find out the gifted side of their children, to help them build up their self-confidence. They would face frustration somehow; however, self-confidence can help them get over difficulties.







End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-03-23 15:10
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

006期2015年3月

早期教育訓練畢業生 才華彰顯獲藝術金獎

天生我才必有用,本處屯門早期教育及訓練中心(下稱「中心」)的畢業生姜旭倫小朋友(下稱「旭倫」)憑着自己一力創作的《野外》畫作獲香港展能藝術會舉辦的「藝無彊:新晉展能藝術家大匯展2014」學生組的金獎。一年半前,他亦在這個比賽獲優異獎,並成為該比賽中年紀最小的獲獎者。

藝術打開了與孩子溝通的門

旭倫今年7歲,就讀小學二年班,過去的他,不太愛講話和與人相處,也不太懂得怎樣表達自己,動來動去好像停不下來似的,但當他在屯門早期教育及訓練中心接觸藝術後,開始很投入藝術的創作,而且一說起自己的畫時,就會手舞足蹈地向人介紹和導賞他的作品,讓人藉着他的畫作進入他的內心世界和想像力。「藝術」為旭倫與父母、和身邊的人打開了一道溝通的門。

最近,旭倫就讀的元朗公立中學校友會小學亦為旭倫辦個人畫展,在壁報板上貼滿了旭倫的畫作,此舉不但增加了旭倫的自信,也令他與老師、同學之的互動更多,對旭倫的成長有莫大的助益。

旭倫媽媽說:「旭倫愛畫畫的程度是每一日都會畫一張畫」。他們最近更計劃運用獲獎獎金,出版旭倫的個人畫集。父母更給旭倫一個「特別任務」,就是讓旭倫自己「話事」,在個人畫集內決定想放那幅畫,不想放那幅畫的編排工作。

旭倫的藝術天份是在2012年時參與本處屯門早期教育及訓練中心的藝術小組時被發掘出來。當時,早期教育及訓練中心的老師獲泓福慈善基金及家居環保國際有限公司贊助,進行藝術培訓課程,其後老師並與藝術家一起帶領兒童進行藝術小組,為兒童創造一個不只追求評分標準的藝術創作環境,讓他們能自主地隨着自己的內心感情去探索。在整個過程中,家長放下了許多的心結,重新用新的眼光來看自己的孩子,從而發掘到孩子豐富想像的世界。

突破傳統框框 學會尊重欣賞

當時,旭倫與媽媽一起參與此項藝術活動,在參與的過程,旭倫媽媽也說她起初受到傳統美學框框的影響,期望孩子能模仿實物繪出他們心目中的圖畫,不過自從參與了小組後,她開始改變了對孩子和藝術的看法。

「我以前覺得天空是藍色的,就應該畫成藍色,所以當孩子畫的天空不是藍色時,就好想迫孩子畫成藍色」,旭倫媽媽說。後來, 經過中心老師的解釋和勸導,旭倫媽媽明白到藝術並無特定的模式,所以她開始嘗試透過畫作了解孩子的世界和肯定孩子的藝術作品,而這反而令她找到更多與孩子溝通的方式。

過程中,她發現旭倫對藝術創作非常投入,當孩子在外界感挫敗時,透過藝術創作,他的情緒不知不覺就得到舒解,而且無論在觀察力和自我表達方面,都比以前進步。

旭倫爸爸亦說:「在中心一年半的訓練,除了讓旭倫順利地進入主流小學外,他的藝術天份亦在此萌芽。他的所思、所想、所說,全都在畫紙上表達出來。讓我們發掘到他前所未見的一面:他擁有的那份專注、自信及語言能力。」

姜太亦鼓勵其他面對同樣處境的家長多用讚賞和欣賞的眼光來發掘自己孩子的優點,幫助他們建立一份自信。我們相信孩子雖然會面對挫敗,但培養了的那份自信卻能幫助他們跨越難關。

關於早期及教育訓練中心
早期教育及訓練中心協助家長及專業人士了解孩子個別的需要和困難,從而訂定最切合孩子需要的訓練目標及計劃。同時,中心會針對孩子個別的發展需要,利用個別及小組訓練,促進孩子在不同範疇的均衡發展,並為孩子提供群體學習的機會。此外,亦會提供職業治療服務、物理治療服務、言語治療服務,並按家庭的需要提供適切服務,讓家庭有充分信心及能力處理孩子及家庭問題。

 


香港藝術發展局技術支援部總監陳永剛先生( 右) 為旭倫頒發學生組金獎獎座。


觀眾欣賞藝術家作品。


旭倫介紹自己的得獎作品予參與的嘉賓。


學校為旭倫舉辦個人畫展。

 

本頁完