Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2014-12-17 17:14
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 004
2014 Nov

Reaching the hearts of the new generation

On 22 September, about 13,000 students joined the school strike pledge of the Chinese University, emblematising the strong despair and outrage of the new generation of Hong Kong towards the announcement of the White Paper on One Country Two System by the Chinese government and the restrictions to political reform by the National People’s Congress Standing Committee. Things began to take a sharp turn, Civil disobedience movement spread, pepper spray, tear gas, umbrellas, masks, tents, road blocks, Lennon Wall (Note 1), Lion Rock Banner, all become iconic. Confrontation among people, undermining the uphold of law and justice by police,not retreating Occupy Movement, tearing apart of the community, … moved many HK people, and triggered Chinese people in different parts of the world as well as the whole world’s attention.

Who doesn’t treasure the hard-earned prosperity and stability of Hong Kong? Who would want to see a society being torn apart? Who would want to destroy Hong Kong? Those who criticise the illegitimacy of the movement, hallow talks about social reconciliation, without facing the cause of this Civil Disobedience movement, are just turning a blind eye to the root of the problem, and in fact, would turn out to be a dire one.

In the eyes of the authorities and privileged with vested-interest, the umbrella youth are passionate rather than rational, innocent and naïve, liable to be manipulated, their way of ignoring laws and discipline, is a virus to the society, detrimental to the well-being of Hong Kong people and ultimately the economy of Hong Kong.

The new generation youth has always been seen as being pampered, tunnel vision, weak in dialectic, undisciplined, with no ideals, impulsive, but after the movement, tens of thousands of youth unveil their remarkably high quality, giving a glimpse of hope to Hong Kong’s future.

The youth has proven themselves to those who belittle them: they have their own will, can think independently, are responsible for themselves, they are not just a herd of rampaging animals, they are willing to dialogue with the government about political development and are willing to work the way towards democracy and bear the consequences after this movement.

What is more amazing is that this new generation do love Hong Kong deeply, they are not willing to see its degradation, they find their identity amid the one country two systems, they find out the unique value worth going for: universal suffrage, a government that is widely accepted by the people, a real harmonious and inclusive society, to them, these are the bliss of Hong Kong, a more important value to be pursued, after the catalysis of the 87 tear gas, it has become their life long mission.

Have we touched the hearts of this new generation? Do we really understand why they do not submit to current circumstances? We still believe that they are hopeless in owing a flat, dissatisfaction with life that drove them onto the street? If we continue to use this perspective, if the government still ignores their sensible appeal, then, it’s we, and the government who are narrow minded, and tunnel vision.

Deep down, are we willing to see our succeeding generation immerse in the money world, to pursue power, or we want to see them to have justice, conscience, and be patriotic and love Hong Kong?


Note 1: Lennon Wall refers to the wall in Admiralty where it was posted with colourful notes.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2014-12-17 15:18
前往目錄

 

004期2014年11月

觸摸心靈:認識新世代

9月22日一萬三千多名學生參與中大校園罷課誓師集會,標誌?香港新世代對中央政府公布的「一國兩制白皮書」及人大常委政改設限「三大閘」強烈的失望與憤怒。此後,事態急劇變化,公民抗命運動一路蔓延,胡椒噴霧、催淚彈、雨傘、口眼、帳篷、路障、連儂牆(註1)、獅山直幡等,深入人心,成為鮮明標記。市民對峙、執法受疑、「佔中」不退、撕裂不止...等局面,不只牽動港人心靈,也激發各地華人、甚至是舉世的關注。

有誰不珍惜香港得來不易的繁榮安定?有誰樂見社會分化?有誰存心摧毀香港前途?但只顧批評行動犯法、或空談社會復和,卻不正視這次公民抗命運動的成因,只是掩耳盜鈴,自欺欺人而矣;而任由內傷不治,問題只會再發,且將更大更深。

在執政當局及既得利益權貴菁英眼中,雨傘青年是熱情有餘、理智不足、是天真單純、易受唆擺的一群,他們漠視法紀的行為,是社會病毒,勢必危害港人福祉,禍延香港經濟。

新世代的青少年,本被視為嬌生慣養、視野狹小、思辨力弱、紀律鬆弛、理想欠奉、情緒衝動,但一場運動所見,數以萬計(甚至十萬計)的青年人,所顯露的素質卻令人刮目相看,激賞之餘,更讓我們對香港前途存有一線希望。

青年人已用行動對看扁他們的人說:我們有個人意志、能獨立思考、願意為行為負責,我們不是蠻牛瞎馬、盲衝亂撞,我們樂意溝通,共商政改,更願運動過後、深耕民主、承擔未來。

更意想不到的是,原來這新世代是這麼深愛香港,不願香港沉淪,在一國兩制之中,他們找到自己的身分角色,找到值得珍惜的獨特價值,他們追求特首真普選,好讓具認受性的政府施政更得民心,社會真正和諧共融,他們認為這才是香港之福,才是更值得追求的理想,經87枚催淚彈催化後,成為他們終身不渝的使命。

我們觸摸到新世代的心靈嗎?我們真的明白他們這麼不識時務的底因嗎?我們還會認為他們只是因上樓無望、心生不滿才上街抗命嗎?若我們仍以這種眼光理解及看待他們、若政府繼續漠視他們理性的訴求,那真正心胸侷促、真正眼光淺窄的不是他們,是我們,是政府!

讓我們撫心自問,對於接棒的新一代,我們是否願意他們只顧在金錢世界打滾、在權慾洪流中成功上爬,還是希望他們做個真正心存正義、良知不泯的公民,成為真正愛國愛港的未來一代?

 


註1:連儂牆是指在金鐘佔中現場中,兩幅貼滿上萬張便條紙,彩色繽紛的民主牆式留言。

 

本頁完