Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2014-10-07 17:49
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 003
2014 Sep

Is Hong Kong a liveable city -
where did the human touch in Hong Kong go?

Recently, one of the hot topics in social circle is: "Shall we emigrate?"

"Any plans to emigrate?" People who raise this question are probably thinking that Hong Kong is no longer a place suitable for them to live. What is strange is that, Hong Kong is ranked rather high among cities that are liveable, take "Monocle" (note 1) which conducted a liveable city survey that Hong Kong comes 13 among the 25 cities that are liveable.

In 2012, The Economist Intelligence Unit (note 2) released the "Best cities ranking and report", Hong Kong was ranked the top, which took many Hong Kong people and critics aback.

Even though these ranking were not the latest in 2014, and perhaps the social environment has drastic changes that stir up another tide of emigration; nevertheless we still believe Hong Kong is superior in itself.

Evaluative criterion like environmental system and other social systems were used by international journals to decide whether a city is liveable, we however use other indicators, which are neighbourhood relationship and human touch within a community, which are in fact the concept of "social capital" (note 3) in sociology.

Although many people doubt "does Hong Kong continue to be liveable?"and think that "it is no longer like what it was in the 60s"; yet, when they consider emigrating gravely, they would be uncertain and try to hold onto something, this reluctance comes from the human touch among people and the community. One of the uniqueness of Hong Kong is the bond among people, and between people and the community, it is more apparent when living aboard.

Since World War II, Hong Kong has established a culture of mutual help, with the completion of public housing in 70s – 80s, the neighbourhood network was still strong, and this built up a solid social capital. Those who returned to Hong Kong after the 80s – 90s emigration tide, they all agreed that Hong Kong is unparalleled, what was unforgettable was the joy and satisfaction that came from interaction with people, and the exciting social activities and its freedom; however, there is only serenity and tranquility overseas, a lack of human touch. It seems, there are still other delicate elements to determine whether a city is liveable.

How these delicate elements continue to pull Hong Kong people together is worthy of reflection among Hong Kong people and leaders. Looking back at all the never ending arguments on political and social issues, to the point of tearing apart the cohesiveness and sense of belonging, we should not just emigrate out of an individual's crisis awareness, on the contrary, we should be active in eliminating the cause of this unhealthy social phenomenon and restore the good old culture so that Hong Kong is indeed a liveable city.


note (1): "Monocle" uses crime rate, healthcare, inclusion, state-funded education, business climate, commitment to culture and green space to compile statistics. There is a new metric "libertarian paradise or stickler for rules" in 2014.

note (2): Categories of the methodology generally include stability, healthcare, education, infrastructure. Seven new indicators were incorporated in 2012: Green Space, Urban Sprawl, Natural Assets, Cultural Assets, Connectivity, Isolation and Pollution.

note (3): Scope of social capital: (1) social networks; (2) trust and solidarity; (3) mutual help and reciprocity; (4) social cohesion and inclusion; (5) social participation and (6) information and communication. (Source: website of Community Investment & Inclusion Fund)

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2014-10-07 17:45
前往目錄

 

003期2014年9月

香港是宜居城市嗎?
我們的人情味那裏去了?

近期其中一個社交圈內熱話題目是「移民好嗎?」「有準備申請移民嗎?」提這問題的人大抵是在思考着香港已經不適合他們居住吧!奇怪的是,香港在有關「宜居城市」的城市排名中,排名卻不算低,例如最新一期國際知名雜誌《Monocle》(註1)公布的全球25大宜居城市(Qualify of LifeSurvey 2014),香港排名13位。

在2012年國際雜誌《經濟學人》(註2)「全球宜居城市」調查中,香港更是位居榜首,令不少港人及評論員感到驚訝。

以上排名雖不是最新2014年的排名,又也許近年香港社會生態環境有急劇的變化而引發新一輪的移民潮,但我們相信香港仍有其優勝之處。

國際雜誌的宜居城巿指標多數以環境系統或各種社會制度為評估準則,我們卻從這些「慣用」指標以外的角度讓讀者思考,就是人與鄰里及社區的「人情味」,亦即是社會學上的「社會資本」(註3)概念。

雖然不少人懷疑「香港究竟是否適合再住下去?」,認為「香港不再是從前獅子山下的香港」。然而,當他們認真思考是否移民,卻會一顧三盼,似有不捨,這份不捨是來自對人及社區的一份情。香港特色之一,是人與人、人與社區情緣,比起在外國生活,特別明顯與強烈。

香港始自二戰後,便有守望相助的社會文化,70-80年代大量公屋落成後,鄰里社區文化仍然強烈,在「左鄰右里」文化中建立了豐厚的社會資本。不少在80-90年代移居外國及後回流的香港人,都不約而同地表示香港有其獨特之處,最讓他們念念不忘的是與人交往的歡愉與滿足,及社會活動的多釆多姿,任君自由選擇與享受;但在外國城市,有的只是恬靜與閑適, 人情味卻不足。這樣看來, 一個城市是否「宜居」,還有其他微妙的元素存在。

怎樣令這微妙的社會資本繼續成為港人歸屬感的重要元素,確實值得全港市民及各界領袖再三反思。回顧近年爭論不休的政治及社會議題,其所導致撕裂社會凝聚力與歸屬感的惡果,我們不應只有個人危機感而選擇移民他去,反須積極為社會除病治害,重建昔日香港美好文化,讓香港名副其實成為可居城市。

 


  • 註1: 《Monocle》根據犯罪率、醫療福利、包容度、公立學校教育、營商環境、文化產業及綠化面積等因素作出統計,2014 年還新增一項標準「是否自由編者的天堂」(libertarian paradise or stickler for rules)。
  • 註2: 此調查的標準,主要包括社會穩定、醫療、教育、基建等因素,2012 年起,調查加入七項與「空間」有關的標準,包括綠色空間、城市擴張、 自然與文化遺產、污染程度,與其他城市的隔離度等,除了污染和文化遺產外,香港在大多數項目取得不俗成績。
  • 註3: 社會資本範疇:(1) 社會網絡;(2) 信任和團結;(3) 互助和互惠;(4) 社會凝聚和包容;(5) 社會參與及(6) 資訊和溝通。(資料來源:社區投資共享基金網頁)

 

本頁完