Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2014-07-18 14:46
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 002
2014 July

Dispelling the myth that the relationship is ruined
when talking about money
Asking the elders to make early planning of assets

Talking about money or management one’s assets were taboos next to "death" for traditional Chinese families. However, with longer life expectancy, early financial planning for elders has become more imminent, apart from guaranteeing a certain quality of living, ensuring autonomy of finance, and to a large extent of preventing family crises, annexation of property or breaking up the family.

We conducted a survey on "Understanding the financial management and habit for aged 50s to 70s" in support of the World Elder Abuse Awareness Day concern on 15 June. It is hoped that through the survey, we could know their habits and needs of the 200 participants, offering our advice for financial autonomy from a preventive perspective.

Elders of this generation tend to manage their assets on their own

According to our findings, more than 90% of interviewees chose to manage their assets on their own, and the higher education they received, the more likely they are to manage by themselves.

At the same time, there are 75% and 85% of interviewees estimated that when their physical or cognitive abilities to look after themselves deteriorated, they would need others to manage their assets. Among them, more than 30% worried that such a measure might not meet their requirement, cannot avoid conflicts within the family and does not help much to reduce the chance that their assets would be snatched away.

Even so, the findings uncovered that about half of the interviewees would have earlier dialogue with their families about their wish, and there were 12% to 20% would draft their will and consult legal opinions regarding the arrangement when they aged.

Prevention is better than remedy Multiple methods to help financial autonomy

In order to be free of worries when one ages, elders could be more proactive in learning about financial management and setting up short term and long term plans and participate actively in decision making. Do not be deterred by the trouble and let other people to take care of your finance. Elders could even choose an appropriate authorisation to his asset in case of future needs, to guarantee the best of their interest. Family members of elders who are responsible for taking care of the finance of the elders, could put down records or make periodic report, or even hold family meetings, to enhance direct communication, to ensure they are also for the best of interest of the elders. Besides, from an age-friendly perspective, simplifying procedures for financial planning, designing them to be more age-friendly facilities and tools, promoting the message of safeguarding personal financial rights to prevent seizure of their assets are helpful for financial autonomy for elders.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2014-06-30 16:29
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

002期2014年7月

打破「講錢失感情」迷思 籲長者及早作好財產規劃

俗語有云:「講錢失感情」,「財產管理」在不少傳統華人家庭中仍被視為僅次於「死亡」的禁忌話題。但隨着人均壽命延長,年長後的財務管理更需要及早籌劃, 除了為保障個人生活質素,促進財務自主外,更為預防萬一安排不善,會出現家庭衝突或發生侵吞財產等不快事件,令家人之間因財失義,破壞家庭關係。

為響應每年6月15日的「世界關注長者被虐日」,本處進行了一項「了解50歲至70歲人士的財產管理習慣及想法」調查,希望藉着了解接近200位受訪者的特性及需要,從預防的角度提出建議,促進年長人士的財務自主權。

新一代長者傾向自行管理財產

調查顯示,超過9成的受訪者選擇自行管理財產,其中教育程度愈高的人士,自行管理財產的比例亦較高。

同時,分別有75%及85%的受訪者預計日後活動能力下降或認知能力退化時,需要委託他人代為管理財產。當中超過3成擔心由他人代管財產未必能夠符合個人意願、未能避免家人出現意見分歧/爭執,甚至未能減低財產被侵吞的機會。

即使如此,調查發現僅約一半受訪者現時會和家人及早溝通個人意願,更只有分別約12%及20%的受訪者有透過訂立遺囑等法律文件,以及諮詢專業人士意見,就年長後的個人財務管理作出具體安排。

預防勝於補救 多管齊下促財務自主

為了令晚年的財務安排更配合個人意願,達致無憂晚年,長者可以自強學習理財知識,主動訂立短期及長遠個人理財計劃,並盡力參與,切忌因「貪方便、怕麻煩」而假手於人。長者亦可為日後萬一需要他人代管財產而未雨綢繆,及早選擇適切而正式的財產管理授權方法,保障個人權益;作為長者的家人,如有必要代長者管理財產,可透過紀錄及/或定期交代,以及按需要召開家庭會議,促進坦誠溝通,確保安排符合長者意願。此外,社會各界更可從「友善長者」的角度出發,簡化理財程序,設計更便利長者使用的理財設施及工具,並推廣保障個人財務權益的訊息,預防長者財產被侵吞。

 


「世界關注長者被虐日」
每年6月15日是「世界關注長者被虐日」,是由防止長者虐待國際網絡(International Network for the Prevention of Elderly Abuse),簡稱INPEA與世界衛生組織於2006年6月15日在聯合國一個全球性的研討會發起,發起這一日的目的是為世界各地提供一個機會,提高其社區裏的人士防虐老的意識,和讓他們能更深入探討及了解當地老年人被虐或遭忽視的情況。

 

本頁完