Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2014-05-28 16:06
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 001
2014 May

Bedspace apartments high in rent
Residents worry where to live

The Jordan district is a fusion of new and old, a co-existence of high-end apartments and low-end buildings, and people with low-income who are not even qualified for public housing.  As it is in the urban area, even old buildings are in great demand to be reconstructed to luxurious apartments. In the past people with low income can barely afford a pigeonhole, but with the re-development of the old buildings, rents would be running high, even those remaining buildings in the districts are likely to be replaced by guesthouses, people there worry that even a bedspace would become unaffordable.

Our Family Networks Integrated Family Service(FN) conducts 2 visits annually to the cubicles apartments in Jordan districts.  Most of the people living there are single males who could not afford the high rents of sub-divided units.  They said that the rent was $800 per month 8 years ago, but it has now surged to $1,700 - $1,800 per month, doubled in these few years.

Landlord often receives complaints from occupants that bedspace apartment is a place with people of all kinds; while at the same time, seeing the neighbouring units being converted to guesthouses, occupants are worried that the landlords would want the same and they would then be left with nothing, not even a flea-fested pigeonhole.

In order to support these bedspace occupants, our FN would mobilise woman volunteers in the district to make seasonal soup for them and our centre would organise some activities based on their interests and at the same time concern for their housing needs.


End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2014-05-28 11:38
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

001期2014年5月

床位寓所租金高企 民居憂連床位也沒有

佐敦區是一個新舊交雜、豪宅與舊樓共存的地區,亦有暫時無法上公屋的低收入人士居住。因位處市區,近年,就連舊樓也變得搶手,甚至要改建豪宅,過去這類低收入人士勉強還有一個地方可以蝸居,但隨着收購改建,租金不斷高漲,甚至餘下的也有被賓館取代之勢,使這類人士擔憂他們之後可能連一個可供棲息的床位也沒有。

本處天倫綜合家庭服務中心每年都會在佐敦區進行兩次床位寓所(以往稱作「籠屋」)探訪。居住在床位寓所的大多是單身男士,因為難以支付劏房的高昂租金而窩居其中。據一些住客所述,他們在8年前入住時,租金大約只是每月$800,但現時已經升至每月$1,700-$1,800,升幅在幾年間已超過100%。

居民憂連床位也沒有

此外,亦有住客稱業主時常都收到投訴,有人認為床位寓所住戶令大廈的品流複雜,同時,他們又眼見鄰近的單位已經被作為賓館經營,擔心有一天業主會因為經濟壓力及為了圖利而不再經營床位寓所,那他們就連窩居在滿佈木蚤的狹小空間的機會都沒有了。

為了支援床位寓所的住客,本處天倫綜合家庭服務中心將會動員區內的婦女作為義工,為他們煲合時湯水,又會給他們舉行一些以興趣為主的活動,同時間持續關注他們的房屋需要。

 


關於天倫綜合家庭服務中心
為居住於尖沙咀、佐敦、油麻地(甘肅街以南)及旺角(渡船街以西)居住的人士及家庭提供個案、小組及社區工作等服務的綜合家庭服務中心,並協助有生活困難的人士尋求社會資源。
電話:2731 6227
網址:www.hkcs.org/fcb/fn/fn.html

  何謂床位寓所
根據《床位寓所條例》「床位寓所」是指內有十二個或以上已被人根據租用協議佔用或擬供根據租用協議佔用的床位的任何居住單位,或在同一建築物內而單位之間的間隔牆已被拆去的兩個或以上的相連居住單位。由於租金高企,更有報道指市面上亦有人出租裝潢時尚的太空艙床位,予單身的年青人居住。


本頁完